Contact Us

Earth, Wind & Fire Releasing First Holiday Music Album, ‘Holiday’

Earth, Wind & Fire is releasing its first holiday music album ever, “Holiday,” on Oct. 21. (Photo: Mike Coppola/Getty Images)

October just started and it ain’t even close to Halloween yet. So, how about some Christmas music?

Legacy Recordings announced today plans to release “Holiday,” the first holiday music album from Earth, Wind & Fire on Oct. 21.

“Holiday” combines new recordings of seasonal standards (“Winter Wonderland,” “The Little Drummer Boy,” “Sleigh Ride” and “Jingle Bell Rock”), beloved carols (“Joy to the World,” “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” and “What Child Is This?,” “Away in a Manger,” “The First Noel”), a traditional Japanese winter song (“Snow”), a modern-day Christmas song (“Every Day Is Like Christmas”) and Earth, Wind & Fire originals “Happy Seasons” (inspired by “Happy Feelin'”) and “December” (inspired by “September”) with vocals from Maurice White.

“This album is the band’s first and only holiday music project,” Earth, Wind & Fire co-founder Philip Bailey said in a statement. “We are very proud to offer it as a labor of love to all of our fans and soon to be.”

Earth, Wind & Fire co-founder Verdine White said: “The ‘Holiday’ album was a joy to record. It is a celebration of tradition, love and spirituality, some of the elements of Earth, Wind & Fire.”

Produced by Bailey and Myron McKinley, the band’s musical director, “Holiday” is Earth, Wind & Fire’s 21st studio album and second for Legacy Recordings. “Now, Then & Forever,” the group’s first album for the label and its first new studio material since 2005, debuted at No. 11 on the Billboard 200 with its release in September 2013, making it the band’s highest-charting album since “Raise!” hit No. 5 in 1981.

Started in Chicago in 1969, Earth, Wind & Fire has been inducted into both the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and The Vocal Group Hall of Fame and has won eight Grammy Awards.

“Holiday” is available by pre-order through Amazon:

Earth, Wind & Fire “Holiday” Tracklist

  1. Joy to the World
  2. Happy Seasons
  3. Oh Come All Ye Faithful
  4. Winter Wonderland
  5. What Child Is This?
  6. Away In a Manger
  7. The Little Drummer Boy
  8. Every Day Is Like Christmas
  9. The First Noel
  10. Sleigh Ride
  11. Snow
  12. Jingle Bell Rock
  13. December

Best of 1410 The Touch

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Never Miss the Latest News from 1410 AM The Touch.