Contact Us

Chris Brown Takes Home Three Honors at 2014 Soul Train Music Awards

Singer-entertainer Chris Brown performs (above) before accepting the best collaboration award (below) at the 2014 Soul Train Music Awards. (Photo: Ethan Miller/Getty Images for BET)

Ethan Miller/Getty Images for BET
The Soul Train Awards 2014 celebrated and honored soul music’s brightest new stars as well as R&B’s greatest legends during the show, which aired on BET and Centric on Sunday night.

Chris Brown was the big winner of the night, walking away with three awards, while Pharrell Williams and Beyonce Knowles-Carter both took home two.

Brown performed a medley of his hits, including “Yo (Excuse Me Miss),” “New Flame,” and “Loyal,” bringing the crowd to their feet.

Also performing were Tinashe, Wendy Williams, Boris Kodjoe, Nico & Vinz, We Are Toonz and Jodeci.

To close out the show, a group of artists honored Kool & The Gang by performing some of the group’s greatest hits, including Tamar Braxton, MC Lyte, Ma$e, Doug E. Fresh, Lil’ Kim, Missy Elliott and Da Brat.

The 2014 Soul Train Music Awards honored artists in 12 categories. The winners included Nico & Vinz (Best New Artist), Beyoncé (Best R&B/Soul Female Artist), Trey Songz (Best R&B/Soul Male Artist), “Beyoncé” by Beyoncé (Album of the Year), and “Happy” by Williams (Song of the Year). The show was taped Nov. 7 in Las Vegas.

Soul Train Awards 2014 Winners
Best New Artist — Nico & Vinz
Centric Certified Award — Leela James
Best Gospel and/or Inspirational Song — Erica Campbell, featuring Lecrae – “Help”
Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year — Chris Brown, featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Chaka Khan Award for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist – Beyoncé
Best R&B/Soul Male Artist — Trey Songz
Album of the Year — Beyoncé – “Beyoncé”
Song of the Year — Pharrell Williams – “Happy”
Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award — John Legend (Toby Gad, John Legend) – “All Of Me”
Best Dance Performance — Chris Brown, featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Best Collaboration — Chris Brown, featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Video of the Year – “Happy” (Pharrell Williams) – “We Are from L.A.”

Best of 1410 The Touch

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Never Miss the Latest News from 1410 AM The Touch.